You are here

History Subscribe to History

Fri, Jul 14, 2017 RI Staff 3,131

In 1863 Russia sailed a fleet of ships to New York and San Francisco. Russia was the European power the most friendly to the United States — which it valued as a rising power independent of Britain — and dispatched the fleet to US harbors in sign of friendship and support, and more significantly to help dissuade Britain and France from siding with the Confederacy.

Tue, Jul 11, 2017 Sergey Markov 2,188
Fri, Jun 16, 2017 Roger Harris 2,363
Fri, May 26, 2017 Eric Zuesse 1,391
Sat, May 13, 2017 Anatoly Karlin 3,101
Sat, Nov 26, 2016 Oleg Yegorov 2,150
Sun, Nov 20, 2016 2,495
Sat, Nov 19, 2016 Quintus Curtius 1,718
Sun, Oct 30, 2016 Oleg Skripnik 3,570
Sun, Oct 23, 2016 John Farrier 3,509
Sat, Oct 22, 2016 Oleg Egorov 2,450
Sat, Oct 22, 2016 Michael Peck 7,133
Sun, Oct 16, 2016 Reina Pennington 1,970
Tue, Sep 6, 2016 William Brumfield 2,014
Opinion Tue, Jul 19, 2016 Dr Paul Kindlon 3,676
Photo Essay Wed, Jun 1, 2016 Sergey Burenkov 699
Tue, May 10, 2016 Diana Strong 2,400
Wed, May 4, 2016 Natasha Lipko-Bastow 1,130
Opinion Sun, Apr 24, 2016 BG Kevin Ryan 2,331
Photo Essay Tue, Apr 12, 2016 Victor Sokirko 561
Mon, Apr 11, 2016 Peter Lee 1,822
Mon, Apr 4, 2016 Ignat Borisov 648